June 21, 2024

Awards Evening 2024

On Thursday 20th June, at a packed Palmer Tomkinson Theatre, The Cedars Academy hosted its annual awards evening.

In front of over 200 attendees, the event was all about looking back on the academic year and celebrating the achievements of Cedars pupils – from Year 7 to Year 11.

The awards were separated into a broad range of categories; from the ‘Yes I Can Award’ to the ‘Leadership Award,’ we celebrated a mixture of fantastic accomplishments.

Every year a special guest attends the event to present the trophies; usually, this is a member of our alumni network and somebody high-profile in sport. This year Shepshed Dynamo striker Zayn Hakeem did the honours.

One of the highlights of the evening was when Mr Khan – Team Leader and organiser of the event – was presented with a Special Recognition Award to mark his 18 years at the school. At the end of the year, he will be leaving Cedars to take up a Deputy Head Position at a school in Dubai.

On the event, Assistant Principal Daniel Thomas said: “An amazing evening was had by all in which we celebrated the top 10% of our students in terms of their overall, values academic and sporting achievements. 

“We are incredibly proud of all of the young people who were invited to this auspicious event.”

The full awards are listed below:




Kind and Respectful 

Cesca (Year 11)

Endeavour Sport

Tom (Year 7)


Zayd (Year 10)

Outstanding Performance (Sport) 

Zayd (Year 10)

Working Hard

David (Year 10)

Most Improved (Sport)

Jack (Year 8)

Academic Excellence

Niam (Year 7)


Zuha (Year 8)

Enthusiastic Learner

Lucy (Year 8)

Manager's Players (Football) 

Kane (Year 8), Lucas (Year 9) and Kamran (Year 11)

Extra Mile

Holly (Year 11)

Manager's Players (Netball) 

Zuha (Year 8), Georgia (Year 10) and Zanib (Year 11)

Leadership Award

Tyvian (Year 10)

Manager's Players (Basketball)

Joel (Year 9) and Liam (Year 10)

Outstanding Improvement Award

Genevieve (Year 9)

Sportsman of the Year

Jozef (Year 11)

The Wow! Award

Prem (Year 9)

Sportswoman of the Year

Martha (Year 11)

The Yes I Can! Award

Kristyna (Year 8)

The Elkington Award

Hannah (Year 9)


Congratulations to our winners and thank-you to all those who were able to attend.