Safeguarding

DSL

 

If you have concerns about the welfare of a child that attends the school during the school holidays please contact the Leicester City Safeguarding Team for a child who lives in the City and Leicestershire County Council First Response for a child who lives in the County.

Title Name Email
Lead DSL Rebecca Knaggs rebecca.knaggs@thecedarsacademy.org.uk
Student Manager Rachael Farrell rachael.farrell@thecedarsacademy.org.uk
Student Manager Louise Goodwin louise.goodwin@thecedarsacademy.org.uk
Executive Head Laura Sanchez laura.sanchez@lionhearttrust.org.uk
Associate Head Maher Rashid maher.rashid@thecedarsacademy.org.uk
Vice Principal James Rolfe james.rolfe@thecedarsacademy.org.uk

 

SAFEGUARDING: OUT OF HOURS SUPPORT

Should you require any advice or support with safeguarding, please refer to the following contacts:

Leicestershire County Council
First Response
If you have significant concerns about a child’s safety

Leicester City Council

Childline

18 or Under?

Childline offers free, confidential advice and support whatever your worry, whenever you need help.


NSPCC

Contact the NSPCC helpline

If you're worried about a child, even if you're unsure, contact our professional counsellors for help, advice and support.


0808 800 5000
The Samaritans
Confidential emotional support

Kooth
A provider of online mental health services for children, young people and adults
FRANK
Confidential drugs information and advice

CAMHS Family Therapy Team 
A new service that has been set up for families across Leicester and Leicestershire.  Families can ring and self refer for support.
Parental Lockdown Assistance during COVID -19
Various helpful contacts


Operation Encompass

All Leicester City and Leicestershire County schools are part of Operation Encompass which is a safeguarding initiative aimed at improving outcomes for children and families affected by domestic violence and abuse.

Operation Encompass is a protocol whereby schools are formally notified of any reported incident of domestic violence at an address at which children are present or normally resident. It is run in partnership with Leicester City Council, Leicestershire County Council and with Leicestershire Police.

All public agencies currently share information where there are safeguarding concerns or risk of harm to children and the Police now share information about all incidents of domestic abuse through Operation Encompass.

To further support the welfare of children, when any domestic abuse incident has been reported to the Police during the school term and one of our pupils was in the household, the information is shared with the Designated Safeguarding Lead.

This system has been introduced because domestic abuse in a household can have a huge impact on children, even if they do not see what is happening.

This information will be used to ensure the school is able to provide appropriate support to pupils. The information will remain confidential and will only be shared on a strictly need-to-know basis. For example, with the class teacher. It will not be shared with children.

If you would like to speak to someone in confidence about domestic abuse, call the Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland Domestic Abuse Helpline on 0800 802 0028.